I CAN’T SEE THE FOREST FOR THE TREES

In my case “I could not see the wood for the trees.”  These expressions pertain to someone who is too involved in the details of a problem to look at the situation as a whole.

I live in a forest called The Adirondack Park, a six million acre forest preserve with 2.6 million acres owned by the state of New York.  My town is called Ticonderoga, home of historical Fort Ticonderoga,

America’s Fort.  The town’s name is derived from the Iroquois Indian name “Chenderoga” – The Land Between Two Waters – the north end of 32 mile long Lake George and the south end of 128 mile long Lake Champlain.

Although there are over 2300 lakes and ponds within the 8000 miles of mountains and over 3000 miles of rivers, brooks, and streams, all I see is trees, trees and more trees of various varieties.  After living in the forest for 10 years off a private dirt road, ¼ mile from the paved town road, I finally saw the wood.

To my astonishment I could not believe I was having a eureka moment –  Aha – Triumph at a discovery.

How could I not see the wood all around me.  All I saw were trees.  Those that see wood are loggers, pulp and paper mills, firewood producers, pallet manufacturers, cabinet and furniture makers.

THE WOOD I NOW SEE IS KINDLING.  On April 1, 2014, the domain name www.lukeswood.com was recorded by registry.  It was the birth of a company producing “The King’s Wood” – Adirondack Ash

Kindling.  Kiln dried kindling is something everyone needs sooner or later or all the time.  Campers and homeowners are the end users.

Behold the turtle:  He only makes progress when he sticks his neck out.”

– James Bryant Conant

Like the blog – Pass it on!

Leave a Reply

